
Akash Deep celebrates after bowling out England's Joe Root on Day 4 of the second Test at Edgbaston, Birmingham on July 5, 2025. Photo: AP
The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC), the cricket's lawmakers, stated that address the controversy surrounding Akash Deep's ball that deceived Joe Root and cleared off his stump. The replay appeared to show Deep's back foot outside the return crease, raising doubts about the delivery's legality. Zooming in, nevertheless, showed that the delivery was lawful because the heel of his back foot had not hit the ground.
Jonathan Trott, a former cricket player for England who is now a commentator, had voiced concerns regarding the delivery that squared up Root. However, India's former head coach Ravi Shastri explained that third umpire Paul Reiffel did not step in since it was a fair delivery.
"On Day four of India's Test against England last week, there were questions raised about the delivery from Akash Deep, which bowled Joe Root, with some fans and commentators believing it to be a no-ball. While Deep landed unusually wide on the crease, and some of his back foot appeared to touch the ground outside the return crease, the third umpire did not call a no-ball. MCC is happy to clarify that this was a correct decision in Law," the MCC spokesperson said on the controversy around the dismissal.
Here's What MCC's Law 21.5.1 Says About Legal Delivery Stride
"For a delivery to be fair in respect of the feet, in the delivery stride the bowler's back foot must land within and not touch the return crease appertaining to his/her stated mode of delivery. MCC has always defined the moment that the back foot lands as the first point of contact with the ground. As soon as there is any part of the foot touching the ground, that foot has landed, and it is the foot's position at that time which is to be considered for a back foot no ball."
"Clearly, at the point Deep's foot first touched the ground, the back foot was within and not touching the return crease. Some of his foot may have touched the ground outside the crease subsequently - that is not relevant to this Law. At the point of landing, he was within the crease, and this was therefore rightly deemed to be a legal delivery," said MCC.
Deep became the second bowler from India to claim ten wickets In a Test match played in England. He helped India bowl out England for 271 in the second innings after taking six wickets. The visitors tied the series 1-1 after winning the Test by 336 runs.